Two one-hour races, including one under lights, have seen the Mobil 1 Australian Production Cars impress at Sydney Motorsport Park today (Saturday 17 June).

Two more one-hour races await the competitors, with Sunday’s outings (10.35am and 3.50pm) to be broadcast live and free on 7Plus as part of the Shannons Trophy Series coverage package.

Iain Sherrin had a hugely successful day at the track, taking out back-to-back APC outright wins, and Class X wins in the #72 Sherrin Racing BMW M4.

In race one, Cameron Crick took out 2nd outright and 1st for Class A1 in the #118 DA Campbell Transport Mitsubishi Evo, while third on the outright podium went to Tyler Mecklem, who was also second for A1 in the #9 Parramatta Vehicle Services Mitsubishi Evo.

In race two, Grant Sherrin claimed second for APC outright and in Class X in the #27 Sherrin Racing BMW M4, in what was his second class X runner-up result for the weekend. Coleby Cowham took out third outright and first for Class A2 in the #25 TyrePlus Burleigh Ford Mustang he shares with Lindsay Kearns – the second A2 win today for the #25.

Jack and Tim Sipp were third for Class X in both races, in the #40 BMW F82 M4, coming home 8th and 5th outright respectively for APC.

In A1, Justin Anthony in the #71 Team Buccini Racing BMW M140i he shares with Paul Buccini completed the race one top three from 5th outright alongside winner Crick and runner-up Mecklem, before the entry went on to secure the class runner-up result in race two. In that second race, the A1 win went to Wade Scott in the #81 Graphteq/BSR Mitsubishi Evo in 6th outright, while Morrall and Mecklem took third in class from 15th outright.

In A2, while the #25 of Cowham and Kearns dominated when it comes to class wins, the podium positions were shared around across the two races, with Brian Callaghan and David Baker taking 2nd in race one and 3rd in race two in the #37 Callaghan Concrete Pumps Holden VY GTS, while Michael Rowell (#3 Rowell Logistics Ford Mustang) claimed 3rd in race one, and Andrew Miedecke claimed 2nd for class in race two in the #95 Miedecke Motor Group Ford Mustang. It was a great turnaround for the Miedeckes, after computer issues saw them strike trouble immediately after the race one start and retire early.

Taking back to back class victories across both races for B1 and D class were the #29 Fierce Racing BMW 135i of Scott Turner and Rob Rubis (B1) and the #97 GenFit Toyota 86 of Liam Moyse (D).

The Class C race wins were split between the Mazda 3 MPSs of Tom Needham (race one Class C winner – #34 All Carbitz Mazda 3 MPS) and Jake Camilleri (#36 Grand Prix Mazda Caboolture Mazda 3MPS). Needham was also second in class for race two.

Allan Jarvis – named as the Meguair’s Best Presented Team earlier in the day for the #70 TOA57 Motorsport VW Golf GTi – took out second in class C in race one, but was unfortunately a DNF in race two after running out of fuel on the final laps. Third place in race one went to Mitch Randall in the #15 Wahlstrom Financial Services BMW 130i he shares with Chris Gunther, while Troy Derwent rounded out the top three in race two in the #78 PB Motorsport Services Holden Astra V8 he shares with Oscar Butt.

Joining the Miedeckes in having trouble in race one was the #16 Power Torque Engines Mercedes C63 AMG of Luke Webber and Tony Levitt, which had its quick connect fittings on the gearbox fail, causing the car to drop oil.

A safety car was also called to retrieve the #51 Lithostone Surfaces HSV Astra VRX Chris Holdt is sharing with Anthony Soole after he lost a wheel, while Camilleri and Scott were also forced to retire with fuel pump issues and broken turbo studs causing a loss of boost respectively.

A post-race penalty was handed down for Turner (but did not affect his finishing result) for being in the wrong grid position at the start of the race, while Rowell was disqualified for using the wrong fuel.

When it came to race two, lady luck frowned not only on Jarvis, but also Campbell (power steering failure), Arthur Tsovolos and Matt O’Brien (#195 MOB Industries/Guardian Protection CSV Volanti – fan belt failure), Holdt (02 sensor failure), Justin Ashwell (#11 Buccini Transport BMW 135i – fuel pump issue) and Gunther (gearbox issue). Derwent also received a post-race penalty; however, it did not affect his finishing result.  

The third and final day of round two of the Mobil 1 Australian Production Cars continues at Sydney Motorsport Park on Sunday the 18th of June, with two one-hour races at 10.35am and 3.50pm to be broadcast on 7Plus and

For further information about the Mobil 1 Australian Production Cars and Monochrome GT4 Australia, contact or visit