(Team release) Bathurst 12 Hour Polesitting Mitsubishi Evo Returns to the Mountain

(Team release) Bathurst 12 Hour Polesitting Mitsubishi Evo Returns to the Mountain

The Mitsubishi Evo IX that qualified on pole position for the 2008 Bathurst 12 Hour will return to Mount Panorama next weekend, where it will be driven by Jason Miller in the Australian Production Car Series support races at the Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour.

The Evo was originally campaigned by Alan East Motorsport, and was predominantly raced by David Wall (who took the 12 Hour pole) and his late father Des in various production car events.

It was purchased by the Miller family in 2017, with former Supercars privateer Jamie Miller running the car for his son Jason in the Winton 300 alongside Richard Baskus – they finished the race third outright.

Since then, Jason has raced the car in the Wakefield and Sydney 300s, along with rounds of the Australian Production Car Series.

The former water-skiing champion has also competed in other categories, including the Victorian Porsche 944 Series, Mazda RX8 Cup and most recently the Porsche Michelin Sprint Challenge, in which he raced a Porsche 991 Mk2 GT3 Cup car last year.

Last year, the Evo was sidelined while Miller concentrated on his Porsche program, but he’s looking forward to returning to the production car scene this weekend.

“I’ve always enjoyed racing the Evo, it’s a proven package that has consistently delivered strong results for us in long-distance races,” Miller said.

“It’s 16 years old now so it’s one of the oldest cars in the field, but it still holds its own against the newer machinery.

“For me, it’s a good opportunity to get back to Mount Panorama – I raced there in the Porsche last year, and racing something that fast will give me a lot more confidence going back there in a production car on treaded tyres.”

The Australian Production Car Series 2023 opener will consist of a trio of 40 minute races at Bathurst, with live coverage on Stan Sport.

Event Schedule

Friday, 7 April

10:25am – Practice 1 (30 min)

1:00pm – Practice 2 (30 min)

Saturday, 8 April

8:15am – Qualifying (20 min)

12:15pm – Race 1 (40 min)

4:10pm – Race 2 (40 min)

Sunday, 9 April

10:35am – Race 3 (40 min)

Photo supplied by Chequered Flag Media